The Manchild Chronicles

Floundering Through Adulthood

Gawker is Pretentious

with one comment

I guess Paul Boutin of Valleywag wrote a memo to all his Gawker editor buddies a couple weeks ago about how to write for Gawker.

This is basically saying that Gawker has a set of rules to follow in all their posts. Meaning, that there is no longer any creative freedom in insulting celebrities, fashionishtas, the ugly, rich, and famous. Instead they have to tell there writers how to write. Their bloggers (or should we call them drones) can no longer incessantly beat down on the subjects of their posts. One memo excerpt suggest that they have to insult them in one cringe filled line and save the rest for later.

I’ll tell you how to be Gawker. Write a bunch of posts that all fall into one niche advertising group that look as if they were written by a 12 year old. The irony of the whole situation is that a blog such as Gawker could have easily been hosted, edited, and produced on WordPress by a bunch of phonies. Just like this one.

If Gawker needs to send a memo out about anything, they should tell their editors and contributors not to write like self-pretentious tech fags.

I am not personally one of these “techbots”. I have a career outside posting on this site. Not a very successful career. But a career that allows me through my everyday activities to provide an opinion that most likely appeals to the common worker. I could easily just regurgitate information and become an informational site similar to Hoboken411, but I won’t because I believe that the “techbots” out there will end up conquering the popular opinion of the internet surfing populous.

How about this Gawker? Instead of writing a memo about how to edit. Take a walk and hang with those construction workers on the corner whistling at that hot Puerto Rican chick. Your wealth of personal knowledge will be greatly enhanced and maybe you won’t suck as much.

Written by Hoaf

February 26, 2008 at 5:39 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the mention. While I do “regurgitate” information from time to time, many of my 5,000 posts (so far) are indeed written by me, and contain opinions of my own!

    Rules do suck. I don’t have any! I have very little structure, and I’m sure that’s obvious…

    Where are the hot chicks?

    Hoboken411

    February 27, 2008 at 7:22 pm


Leave a Reply

